Gluten intolerance or celiac disease is an allergy to wheat protein contained in some cereals (especially wheat, barley and rye) that causes inflammation of the intestine. It affects more than 300,000 Canadians, regardless of the number of cases ignored due to difficulty in diagnosis.

Aftermath

Gluten intolerance can cause major problems causing food, among other things, the person with under nutrition. This malnutrition is due to absorption of nutrients in the digestive system, which leads to problems of diarrhea and constipation, bloating, and muscle aches. This intolerance could even cause depression. In a therapeutic perspective, the elimination of gluten sources remains the most effective treatment to relieve symptoms and promote digestion, despite the fact that gluten intolerance can occur and remain all in your life.

Avoid foods that contain gluten

It is shown that even small amounts of gluten can damage the intestinal wall and cause digestive discomfort, so be vigilant. Many products on the market hidden gluten, for example: Many grain products including bakery products, pasta and flour (or flakes) based on wheat, Bulgar or couscous, barley, rye, spelled, kamut, triticale and possibly also oats and quinoa (which may contain particles of wheat cross contamination). Many foods “hidden” gluten as wheat as a binder in the the transformation process. It is found in some yogurts and ice creams in several mixtures of beverages in most commercial soups and sauces, and often in the canned goods. Other products streams contain traces of wheat. This is the case of some alcoholic beverages such as beer, which is produced from corn. For other beverages derived from malt (gin, vodka, whiskey and scotch), it is better to consume them in moderation and as tolerated. Finally, it is important to note that some drugs and vitamins may contain gluten (due to their coating).

gluten-food

Take advantage of the gluten-free alternatives

There are a variety of foods that are naturally gluten-free, it suffices to know. These include: wheat free cereal products: rice, corn, potato, millet and buckwheat. flours derived from these grains, flour or chickpea and soybean. Of all meat, poultry and fish natural, that is to say, without marinade and without breading. The family of legumes and some soy products (milk and soybeans). The majority of fresh fruits and vegetables, not canned or prepared. It is possible to adopt a diet free of gluten, provided having a radar nutritional food and reflexes sharp. It is worth to be careful if you want to allow a return to normal digestion.